How to turn off automatic updates on PS5 to avoid losing progress on Returnal

Returnal is proving to be the toughest PS5 game since Demon’s Souls. It’s been widely praised by critics but has drawn criticism for how it handles game saving. The ability to save is sparse in Returnal and something like an automatic update popping up forcing a player to lose progress could likely result in a broken controller. To keep controllers safe, follow this simple guide on how to turn off automatic updates on PS5 and avoid losing progress on Returnal.

Go to Settings > Saved Data and Game/App Settings > Automatic Updates Turn off Auto-Download or Auto-Install in Rest Mode.

HOW TO TURN OFF AUTOMATIC UPDATES ON PS5 TO AVOID LOSING PROGRESS ON RETURNAL

A new patch for Returnal is set to go live, today, on May 5, at 12pm PT/3pm ET/8pm BST.